Lupus spots ….. & Stress = Flare

For the past few months I have had awful looking spots on my arms. They are like small blisters, that then weep and pop to which I then find myself scratching them. My arms are looking a real mess, I have scars plus new blisters everyday. From the results I have found online, I’m pretty sure it is related to one of my many meds. Plaquenil, this make me even more sensitive to the sun, which can result in blisters or a rash in areas that the sun hits the most. I feel like they are getting worse at the moment … maybe I need to cover myself completely …. hmm no thanks!

This is what they look like (not the best picture, was hard to get a good shot)

IMG_2614

More and more I realise how stress is such a trigger for a flare up. Currently things have been a tad stressful at home after my husband is unable to work at the moment due to an accident chopping part of his finger off. So with dealing with all of that … I start to get joint pain, fatigue, really bad brain fog, sore mouth etc etc etc ………… nothing too bad that I can’t coupe with it, but its are warning sign for me. But hey life must go on right?!

I recently saw a post online from a fellow lupuie they had put their medication in a cute box .. and I thought why haven’t I done that rather than a horrible ratty zip lock bag that sits on the kitchen bench in the corner …. so I did!

IMG_2601IMG_2602

Actually makes it easier to remember what pills I’m taking each day! Its the small things in life that make you smile 🙂

11010554_796010460467519_6672850360773018379_n

Just another lupie living with lupus

Wendy

5 comments

  1. I’m currently trying to get a doctor, any doctor to diagnose me. I have many because all body systems are involved and every disease I have share one common denominator and that is LUPUS. Please, give me the diagnosis and get me the help I need or I’m going to die from something that probably could have been prevented. I don’t see my rheumatologist til June, but I’m going to have a good chat with her about this LUPUS business. I wish you the best on your journey. Have a great day. 🙂

      1. I’ve been trying for years……………………….I forgot to tell you that I recently had a CT scan of my abdomen because I have gastroparesis and a feeding tube, so every time I end up in the ER they feel the need to CT scan me. They accidentally found out from that CT scan that I now have yet another lovely disease, avascular necrosis of my left hip. Once again, I did my research and there was that word LUPUS, once again. Maybe this is finally my time. Hopefully, between the surgeon and my rheumatologist, they can put it all together and get me diagnosed before it’s too late. I also, just remembered that about a week ago I had a spot on my arm that looked almost just like that and I did take a picture of it so I can show my rheumatologist. I only had one spot, though. It just was all of a sudden there. Weird, huh? Take care. I look forward to following your blog and talking with you some more. Peace out! 🙂

  2. Oh my gosh 😦 you are having a bad time. Lupus has a lot to answer for… affects us all so differently. Ask them to test you for it. I know it takes a few positive tests for it to be correctly diagnosed. Best of luck! I’ll also check out your blog too.

    1. Hi there. I’m back. I just spent a week in the hospital and have now been dealing with some God awful withdrawals from a medication I was put on for my insomnia. The doctor at the hospital took me off of it in less than a week and I’ve been on this poison for almost 6 years. My primary care doctor was going to help me with a tapering off schedule and she said it would be very difficult because you have to taper off very slowly. She said to expect at least 4 months or longer. I have never felt this ill in all my life. Now I’m left to deal with this mess by myself. I just started back taking a lower dose and will taper off that slowly and pray to God it works. How have you been doing, while I’ve been away? And, by the way, that picture of your spot on your arm, leg, wherever it’s at or was at, I had one that looked almost just like that appear on my finger, I believe it was. I can’t really remember exactly where it was, but I did get a picture of it to show my rheumatologist in June. I only had one, but that was enough. My mouth gets so sore all the time. My tongue swells and usually along the side of my tongue and the tip of my tongue get very red and burn like hell. Since my tongue swells, my tongue rubs against my teeth when I talk and every time I swallow and that makes it even worse. I can see the sores on my tongue and under my tongue. It’s so painful. And, almost every time this happens, my lymph nodes on the same side are swollen and hurt. They almost always go together. It’s the weirdest stuff. Okay, well I’m back, so I’ll be back to read more of your blog soon. Take care and I look forward to talking with you some more. Take care.xx 🙂

Leave a comment